TNA demands ‘special arrangement’ for Northern Province

The four-party Tamil National Alliance (TNA) on Saturday insisted that it wouldn’t cooperate under any circumstance with the  electoral reforms meant to reduce the number of elected representatives from the Northern and Eastern electoral districts.

Nine members are elected from the Jaffna electoral district, whereas six enter parliament from the Vanni electoral district comprising Mannar, Vavuniya and Kilinochchi districts. Sixteen are elected from the Eastern Province comprising the electoral districts of Trincomalee (4), Digamadulla (7) and Batticaloa (5).The TNA comprised the Illankai Thamil Arasu Kadchi (ITAK), TELO, PLOTE and EPRLF.

Go to source


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *